Montana Governor – Recipients of Veteran Commendation

HELENA, MT (STL.News) Governor Greg Gianforte announced the recipients of the 2021 Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation, a unique recognition of Montana veterans who served our country and continued their service in their communities.

“Our veterans and their families have sacrificed so much in defense of our freedoms and our way of life.  I’m honored to recognize 31 outstanding Montana veterans who served their country and continued the commitment to service in our communities,” Gov. Gianforte said.  “On behalf of all Montanans, thank you for your selfless service to our country and our communities across Montana.”

Gov. Gianforte launched the Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation program in November 2021.  The award recognizes outstanding Montana veterans who have selflessly served our country in uniform and made a positive impact in their community.

In November, Gov. Gianforte asked Montanans to help him identify nominees for the award.  The deadline for nominations closed December 31, 2021.  Nominations for the 2022 Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation will be open later in 2022.

The governor will honor the 31 recipients of the 2021 Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation with an award and a special commemorative flag flown over the Montana State Capitol in their honor.

The full list of the recipients of the 2021 Montana Governor’s Veteran Commendation follows:

  • John A. Alstad of Sunburst – U.S. Marine Corps, Vietnam War
  • Daniel Clarence Barta of Roundup – U.S. Navy, Vietnam War
  • Darren Bergsing of Livingston – U.S. Air Force, 1990-2010
  • Kenneth Bogner of Miles City – U.S. Marine Corps, 2005-2013
  • Rick Braley of Columbus – U.S. Navy, Vietnam War
  • Lynn M. Clendenen Jr. of Miles City – U.S. Army, Vietnam War
  • Francis Dahl of Billings – U.S. Army, Korean War
  • Matt Egloff of Butte – U.S. Army, 1965-1987
  • Chris Enget of Billings – U.S. Army, 2005-2017
  • Blake Fuhriman of Billings – U.S. Army, 2009-2013
  • David Ardell Gauslow of Laurel – U.S. Army, Vietnam War
  • Edmund Gilbert of Clyde Park – U.S. Army, Vietnam War
  • Roger Hancock of Lolo – U.S. Navy, 1972-1993
  • Anton Johnson of Missoula – U.S. Army, 2001-2009
  • Scot Kerns of Great Falls – U.S. Air Force, 2005-2020
  • Roy Lee Kidder of Kalispell – U.S. Marine Corps, 1954-1960
  • James Long of Butte – U.S. Marine Corps, Vietnam War
  • Scott Miller of Bridger – U.S. Army, 1989-2018
  • Corry Mordeaux of Huntley – U.S. Army, 1955-1982
  • Timothy C. Peters of Helena – U.S. Air Force, 1981-2001
  • Thomas Price of Eureka – U.S. Navy, World War II
  • Dennis Lee Radish of Eureka – U.S. Navy, Vietnam War
  • David Jon Reisenauer of Butte – U.S. Navy, 1973-1979
  • Sidney B. “Tom” Reynolds, Jr. of Miles City – U.S. Air Force, 1961-1965; U.S. Army, 1965-1993
  • Timothy Richards of Missoula – U.S. Army, 1981-1996
  • Ronald “Rondo” Scharfe of Missoula – U.S. Navy, World War II
  • Cory Sena of Helena – U.S. Army, 1993-2016, including Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom
  • Ruth E. Smith of Missoula – U.S. Army, 1977-1981
  • Mark Dale Teeters of Miles City – U.S. Army, 1995-2009
  • Gary Thompson of Kalispell – U.S. Navy, 1967-1971; Montana National Guard, 1978-1986; U.S. Army, 1986-2002
  • Jay Wood of Deer Lodge – U.S. Coast Guard, 1981-1995; Montana Air National Guard, 2010-2020

More details about the program may be found at