FEMA News: Federal Aid Programs for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Washington DC (STL.News) – FEMA released the following information:

Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Donald J. Trump‘s emergency disaster declaration issued for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

Assistance for Commonwealth and affected Local Municipalities can include as required:

  • FEMA is authorized to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, to save lives, to protect property, public health and safety, and lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.
  • Specifically FEMA is authorized to provide assistance for emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance for the Public Assistance Program, in all 78 municipalities in the Commonwealth.  Federal funding assistance is provided at 75 percent.