John Danforth To Receive Winston Churchill Leadership Medal

ST. LOUIS, MO/May 16, 2017 (STL.News) Statesman John Danforth will be honored with the Winston Churchill Leadership Medal.

The award is presented by the National Churchill Museum at Westminster College in Fulton, Missouri, where Churchill gave his famous “Iron Curtain” speech in 1946.

“We are pleased to announce Senator Danforth’s selection for this prestigious award because his incredible leadership and dedication to public service in the local, state, national and international political arena are simply unmatched,” said Dr. Benjamin Ola.  Akande, president of Westminster College.

“One of St. Louis’s favorite sons, Senator Danforth’s commitment to service is surpassed only by his faith in God, his love of family, and his undying advocacy for the St. Louis region.” Akande added.

Akande also said Danforth’s “invaluable work through the former Danforth Foundation also will serve residents of the Greater St. Louis community and the world for generations to come.”

The former U.S. senator will receive the award on Thursday, June 8, at a gala at Bellerive Country Club, in Town and Country, where noted historian and Pulitzer Prize-winning author Doris Kearns Goodwin will deliver the keynote address.

“Senator Danforth is the epitome of what statesmanship is all about,” said Timothy Riley, Sandra L. and Monroe E. Trout Director and Chief Curator of the National Churchill Museum.  “The stoic wisdom he shares, his dedication to public service, his lengthy leadership in government service, and his commitment to bolstering higher education makes Sen. Danforth the perfect choice for this coveted award.”

Danforth, 80, began his public service in 1968 when he was first elected Missouri Attorney General.  He also served three terms in the U.S. and as U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations.

Danforth is also an ordained Episcopal priest.  This spiritual role led him to author such books as Resurrection (1994); Faith and Politics: How the “Moral Values” Debate Divides America.

Other recipients of the Churchill Leadership Medal, include former British Prime Minister Sir John Major; the late journalist and television news pioneer Walter Cronkite and John W. Bachmann, retired CEO of Edward Jones.