Illinois Governor Pritzker Announces Five Appointments to Illinois Boards

Springfield, IL (STL.News) – Building on a strong team of diverse experts in their fields, Illinois Governor JB Pritzker announced the following individuals have agreed to serve in his administration:


Richard Sewell will serve on the Health Facilities and Services Review Board.*  Previously, Sewell served as Associate Dean, Community and Public Health Practice and Clinical Assistant Professor in Health Policy and Administration at the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health. During his tenure at UIC, he initiated and developed the public health practice function and taught management and planning courses to graduate students.  He served as the Director of the MPH Program and Co-Director of the Emergency Management and Continuity Planning Program in the Health Policy and Administration Division. Prior to UIC, Sewell served as Senior Vice President at United Way in Chicago, where he led the reform of the fund distribution system and managed community building, human resources and administration, and labor participation.  In addition, Sewell served as Executive Director of the Chicago Health Policy Council at the University of Chicago, Deputy Commissioner, Public Health and Clinical Services at the Chicago Department of Public Health, and Administrator of the Bureau of Public Health. Sewell was the founding President of the Suburban Primary Health Care Council, Executive Director of the DuPage C0unty Health Systems Agency, Senior Planning Associate with the Council for Community Services in Metropolitan Chicago, and Director, Medical Care Division with the Health Planning Association of Northwest Ohio and a Sanitarian with the Toledo Health Department.  Sewell earned an M.P.H. in Health Administration from the University of Oklahoma and a Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts from Bowling Green State University in Biology.


Mark Denzler will serve on the Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board

Denzler currently serves as the President and CEO of the Illinois Manufacturers’ Association representing nearly 4,000 facilities across the state.  Prior to joining the IMA, he worked as a Public Affairs Specialist for State Farm Insurance and worked in the Illinois General Assembly.  Denzler is a current member of the Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board, having been appointed by the two previous administrations.  He earned his undergraduate degree from Illinois Wesleyan University and graduate degree from the University of Illinois-Springfield.

Karen Harris will serve on the Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board

Harris currently serves as Vice President and General Counsel of the Illinois Health and Hospital Association, a trade association representing over 200 hospitals and 50 health systems.  In addition, she is the current Executive Director of the Illinois Association of Healthcare Attorneys.  Prior to joining IHA, Harris was a Partner in the Health Care Practice Group of Saul, Ewing, Arnstein & Lehr LLP.  Additionally, she served as Regional General Counsel at Aetna U.S. Healthcare, Inc.  Harris earned honors in 2018 as a Chicago Business Journal Women of Influence honoree and in 2017 as one of the most influential minority lawyers in Chicago by Crain’s Business Journal.  Harris earned her Bachelor of Arts from Princeton University and Juris Doctor from Harvard Law School.

Mark Prince will serve on the Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board

Prince has been a self employed attorney in Illinois for 31 years.  He has spent his career representing southern Illinoisans who have been injured on the job or by the negligence of others.  Previously, Prince served as President of the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association and is a current member of the Executive Committee.  Prince has been awarded two Trial Lawyer Excellence Awards from the Chicago Verdict Reporter and has served on the Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board in the past.  He earned his Bachelor of Science from Sangamon State University and a Juris Doctor from Southern Illinois University School of Law.

Dave Weaver will serve on the Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board

Weaver currently serves as the Directing Business Representative of the District 9, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Union, and President of the Illinois State Council of Machinists.  Previously, Weaver has worked as a Business Representative with District 9, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Union, until being appointed Assistant Business Director.  In addition, Weaver served the AFL-CIO as Labor Liaison with United Way of Greater St. Louis, Illinois Division and as Illinois Vice-President.  Weaver began his career as a Machinist as an Apprentice Mechanic and a Journeyman Mechanic in Belleville, Illinois.