Governor Greitens requests federal assistance for Missouri’s historic flooding

Governor Greitens requests federal assistance for Missouri’s historic flooding

JEFFERSON CITY, MO/May 25, 2017 (STL.News) Yesterday, Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Governor Greitens filed requests asking President Trump to approve a major disaster declaration that would provide 51 counties with federal assistance for Missouri flooding that began April 28, 2017.

Governor Greitens said.  “Today, I am requesting that President Trump approve federal assistance for flood survivors and businesses.  This assistance will help our people begin to rebuild, and help local communities with costly emergency response and infrastructure repair costs.  The people of Missouri are strong.  Communities are coming together to rebuild.  Support from the administration is essential to that effort.”

Areas received as much as 10 to 12 inches of rain pushing dozens of rivers and creeks to record levels resulting in evacuations, major damage and the destruction of homes and businesses.

Jointly, the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) along with local officials prepared a Preliminary Damage Assessment.  Governor Greitens is asking for individual assistance for 37 counties in the state allowing eligible residents to seek federal assistance with temporary housing, housing repairs, replacement of damaged belongings, vehicles and other qualifying expenses.

Additionally, the Governor is requesting that the U.S. Small Business Administration assist businesses, homeowners and renters in the 37 counties with low-interest rate loans.

The 37 counties are: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Christian, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Shannon, Stone, Taney, Texas, Wayne and Wright.

Furthermore, the Governor has requested requested Public Assistance for 45 Counties, which would allow local governments and qualifying non-profit agencies to seek federal assistance for reimbursement of emergency response and recovery costs, including repair, and replacement costs for damaged roads, bridges and other public infrastructure.

Those counties are: Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Iron, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, Miller, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Missouri residents/businesses affected by the flooding are advised to continue documenting losses using photography and retain all receipts.  Additional information will be provided as it is available.

April 28, 2017, Governor Greitens declared a state of emergency in preparation of the heavy rain resulting in the flooding that the National Weather Service forecast.  The Governor quickly responded in anticipation of the damage that would result from the flooding activating the Missouri State Emergency Operations Plan, which allowed state agencies to coordinate quickly with local jurisdictions to provide emergency services.

On April 30, 2017, Governor Greitens signed an executive order activating hundreds of Missouri National Guardsmen in addition to those who participated in helicopter search and rescue missions.

For more information please visit  The site will be updated as information is available.