Wine Honors



ST. LOUIS, MO: (STLRestaurant.News) – Some exciting news for wine connoisseurs in St. Louis.  Seventeen area restaurants recently received National recognition for making this year’s Wine Spectator magazine Restaurant Awards.  It is by far the largest wine database around, comprised of over 342,000 ratings.  The magazine’s Restaurant Awards acknowledge restaurants that offer interesting wine list selections that are both compatible with their cuisine, and are enticing to a wide variety of wine lovers.  They have been honoring those restaurants with exceptional wine programs since 1981.

Three different categories of awards are handed out: the Award of Excellence, exemplified by one wine glass; the Best of Award of Excellence, exemplified by two wine glasses; and the Grand Award, exemplified by three wine glasses.  For a restaurant to qualify, they must offer extensive, accurate information, including vintages and titles for all selections.  It is also mandatory to show entire producer names and correct spellings.  The overall presentation of the list is also taken into consideration.

This year, there were 2,414 restaurants given the Award of Excellence, 1,093 presented with the Best of Award of Excellence and 88 received the Grand Award. Of those, six area restaurants received the Best Award of Excellence, including Lucas Park Grille, Bar Italia, 801 Chophouse, Truffles, Balaban’s and Annie Gunn’s. Truffles, Balaban’s and Annie Gunn’s have been at the Wine Spectator’s Best Award level since 2004, 2012 and 2003.

Making the list for the Award of Excellence were Vin De Set, Olive + Oak , Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar, The Melting Pot- both the Delmar and Town and Country locations, Remy’s Kitchen and Wine Bar, Cielo Restaurant & Bar, Eleven Eleven Mississippi, 801 Fish, Morton’s, and Copia Restaurant & Wine Bar

If you’d like to enter for an award, restaurants must submit their wine lists and menus to Wine Spectator along with a description of their wine program.  Congratulations to ALL this year’s winners!

Contributing Editor: Kara Savio