New Orleans Mayor Cantrell Joins New Climate Mayors Steering Committee to Guide Citywide Climate Action

Mayor Cantrell Joins New Climate Mayors Steering

Committee to Guide Citywide Climate Action

NEW ORLEANS, LA (STL.News) New Orleans Mayor LaToya Cantrell Tuesday announced her participation in the newly launched Climate Mayors Steering Committee, a group of twenty-four mayors who will serve as a leading voice in efforts to further climate action in the more than 400 cities across the U.S. making up the Climate Mayors coalition.

The Steering Committee will work alongside the Climate Mayors’ Chair, Mayor Eric Garcetti, and Co-Chairs, Mayors Madeline Rogero, Sylvester Turner and Martin J. Walsh to highlight the importance of city-led climate action in creating healthier, cleaner and more equitable and sustainable cities.  The Steering Committee will also work to catalyze membership and more deeply engage their regions, as well as showcase the impactful work of existing Climate Mayors and how cities are helping meet the scope and the scale of the challenge posed by climate change.

“As mayors, we are on the front line of the fight against climate change.  In this critical moment, it is vital for American leaders to demonstrate real commitment to addressing the crisis we face.  In New Orleans, we are all too familiar with the damage being done and the risks at stake.  Climate change impacts our quality of life, our public health, and it disproportionately hurts those with the least resources,” said Mayor Cantrell.  “I am proud to stand with my fellow Climate Mayors, to demand that every level of government take meaningful, equitable action for cities and for our people.”

After President Trump announced his initial plans to withdraw from the landmark Paris Agreement in June 2017, more than 300 mayors joined the Climate Mayors coalition, pledging to uphold the goals of the Paris Agreement in their cities and reduce harmful greenhouse gas emissions.  The network has since grown to include 438 mayors, both Democrat and Republican, who represent cities ranging in size and region and show the overwhelming support for climate action among the majority of Americans.

Today’s Steering Committee launch builds on the leadership of Climate Mayors across the country who continue to lead on building a healthier and stronger clean energy future, regardless of the decisions made at the federal level.

“Cities across our country and around the world see the impacts of climate change firsthand — and we stand front and center in the fight to address this crisis with every tool at our disposal,” said Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti.  “No matter what happens on the national level, cities know we cannot afford any more debates or delays, so we will continue to act to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement, protect our most vulnerable residents, strengthen global health, and create a green economy that works for everyone.”

As a Climate Mayors member city, New Orleans has committed to bold climate action and adopted a Climate Action Plan that will reduce our greenhouse gas emissions by 50% by 2030.

“The Climate Mayors network is more than four hundred strong, and counting,” said James Ritchotte, Director of Climate Mayors.  “We’re excited to have these twenty-four mayors lead us in showcasing the important work of cities and maximizing the collective impact of Climate Mayors across the country who are fighting climate change in their communities.”

The following mayors are members of the Climate Mayors Steering Committee:

  • Steve Adler (Austin, TX)
  • Ethan Berkowitz (Anchorage, AK)
  • Jim Brainard (Carmel, IN)
  • Michael Cahill (Beverly, MA)
  • Kirk Caldwell (Honolulu, HI)
  • LaToya Cantrell (New Orleans, LA)
  • Melvin Carter (Saint Paul, MN)
  • Jane Castor (Tampa, FL)
  • Frank Cownie (Des Moines, IA)
  • Bill de Blasio (New York City)
  • Mike Duggan (Detroit, MI)
  • Buddy Dyer (Orlando, FL)
  • Kevin Faulconer (San Diego, CA)
  • Greg Fischer (Louisville, KY)
  • Kate Gallego (Phoenix, AZ)
  • Michael Hancock (Denver, CO)
  • James Hovland (Edina, MN)
  • Eric Johnson (Dallas, TX)
  • Lioneld Jordan (Fayetteville, AR)
  • Tim Keller (Albuquerque, NM)
  • Ron Nirenberg (San Antonio, TX)
  • Bill Peduto (Pittsburgh, PA)
  • Satya Rhodes-Conway (Madison, WI)
  • Lucy Vinis (Eugene, OR)

About Climate Mayors

Climate Mayors, founded in 2014, is a diverse network of U.S. city leaders who have committed to fighting climate change. In response to the Trump administration’s withdrawal from the Paris Agreement, the network’s ranks swelled to more than 400 U.S. mayors from across the country who have committed to taking ambitious action to meet each of their cities’ current climate goals, while working together towards achieving our national Paris targets.  Climate Mayors is founded and Chaired by Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, and Co-Chaired by Mayors Madeline Rogero (Knoxville), Sylvester Turner (Houston) and Martin J. Walsh (Boston).  For more information, please visit