Federal Bureau of Investigation, a.k.a. F.B.I., is a domestic intelligence/security service of the United States and is the leading law enforcement agency operating under the jurisdiction of the U.S. Department of Justice (D.O.J.).  Additionally, the F.B.I. is a member of the U.S. Intelligence Community and reports to the Attorney General and Director of National Intelligence.  It has jurisdictions of more than 200 categories of federal crimes.

FBI was created in 1908 named the Bureau of Investigation, a.k.a. BOI or BI.  The name was changed to the existing name, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), in 1935.

The headquarters is in Washington, D.C., at the J. Edgar Hoover Building.

The budget of the FBI is more than an estimated $8 billion.

The agency’s main goal is:

  1. Protect the United States from terrorist attacks,
  2. Protect the United States against foreign intelligence operations and espionage,
  3. Protect the United States against cyber-based attacks and high-technology crimes,
  4. Combat public corruption at all levels,
  5. Protect civil rights,
  6. Combat transnational/national criminal organizations and enterprises,
  7. Combat major white-collar crime,
  8. Combat significant violent crime,
  9. Support federal, state, local, and international partners and
  10. Upgrade technology to enable, and further, the successful performance of its missions as stated above.